Special Events & Milestones

Festive Blues

Today India celebrates the fun filled festival of colours- Holi! It’s only a matter of time that almost everyone in the country gets out of their houses with an array of wet & dry colours and the festivities begin with furor.

This will be the 12th year that I don’t celebrat Holi & my 1st away from the family. This technically means that in addition to not playing with colours, this time around I won’t be eating the special Holi sweet either. The absolutely delicious Gujiya.

Image

In an ideal world, I would have wanted to atleast step out & to just click some real time pictures as everyone around me celebrates this splendid festival. The bright colors of joy: magenta, yellow, green, mauve; the gorgeous smiles on everyone’s faces!

But here I am, just sitting in my room, feeling a little blue.

Image

I have lived a large part of my life, waiting for the right time to do things, to have fun & to live for myself. Although, lately the thoughts of “someday” have been replaced by the fear of “what if it never happens” and the anxiety due to the realization that time is just flying by. Maybe, it’s just the fleeting festive optimism, but today I feel like saying that I will celebrate with colours again someday. I don’t know when, but I will.

Until then, it’s me… wishing all of you an extremely joyous & safe Holi!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Festive Blues

Your thoughts?

