Poems

Betrayal & Pain

pain_buffalo_1

You say those dreaded words again,
My heart sinks deeper into despair!

No, you’re not the first,
To have crushed my trust.
Or to leave me alone,
Gasping, in an excruciating black hole!

Too many times I’ve died,
Too many days and nights I have wasted crying!
Wishing for this agony to end,
For the sun to shine,
And for warm summers to begin!

Sometimes I question myself,
Why don’t I cease to feel?
Why kindness still seems to melt my heart?
Only to tear it back apart,
With treachery, indifference and misdeed?

Standard

Your thoughts?

